Art Education| Faculty of Education

About UNN


The University of Nigeria, commonly referred to as UNN, is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Eastern part of Nigeria. Founded by Nnamdi Azikiwe in 1955 and formally opened on 7 October 1960.


The University of Nigeria has three campuses in Enugu State– Nsukka, Enugu, and Ituku-Ozalla.


The University of Nigeria is the first full-fledged Indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria, modeled upon the American educational system. It was the first land-grant university in Africa and one of the five most reputed universities in Nigeria.


The university has 17 Faculties and 102 academic departments. The university offers 108 undergraduate programs and 211 postgraduate programs.



   Department of Art Education| Faculty of Education



Art is one of the compulsory subjects taught at the basic education levels.


Art Education in Nigeria aims at inculcating in children the spirit of inquiry and creativity while developing their basic skills including those needed for proper adjustment and contribution to society.







The philosophy of the department is in tandem with the Nigerian Philosophy of Education which is to develop individuals into sound and effective citizens who will fully integrate themselves into the Nigerian Society.


The programs offered in the department are planned for maximum self-development, self-fulfillment, and self-sufficiency of the students. The students upon graduation will be life-long learners.


The programs are designed to expose students to a robust and rounded education for the training of the mind and equipping them with appropriate skills and competencies for them to live in and contribute to the development of their society.


The programs also produce competent arts teachers for the different levels of education in Nigeria. As a result, the students are equipped with the knowledge, skills, competencies, and values, required to teach the art subjects.





The main objectives of the department are as follows:


1) To produce highly qualified and competent arts teachers.


2) To produce enough art teachers who will teach the different art subjects in school.


3) To produce teachers who are professionals and educators with sound ethics.


4) To produce arts teachers with Information and Communication Technology skills and who can integrate them in teaching and learning.


5) To produce teachers who will be dedicated to finding solutions to the great challenges of arts education in Nigeria


6) To produce teachers who have a well-informed knowledge of the different arts subject which they will apply in the advancement of Nigerian society.


7) To enable the students to acquire entrepreneurial and Information skills that would help them function effectively in the 21st century.


8)  To produce arts teachers who can appreciate the values of Nigerian society and inculcate them in the learners.


9) To produce teachers who are broad-minded and can instill the spirit of tolerance in learners from diverse areas of Nigeria.









The programs offered by the Department of Arts Education are as follows:


1) Education/Creative Arts

2)  Education/English

3) Education/Fine and Applied Arts

4)  Education/French

5) Education/History

6) Education/Igbo Linguistics

7) Education/Music

8) Education/Religion


The theoretical and practical aspects of these programs are explored in-depth to enable students to acquire pedagogical and life skills for 21st-century existence.


The department runs four and three-year standard degree programs for students admitted through UTME or Direct Entry (DE). The students, in each category, undertake courses in the different arts subjects, education, and teaching practice carried out in existing secondary schools around the University in their second, third, and final years as applicable.




Admission/ Entry Requirements


In addition to the University general admission requirement, students are admitted into these programs in two levels:






To qualify to be admitted into the programs by this mode, candidates must possess the West African School Certificate (WASC) Senior Secondary School Certificate or the General Certificate of Education at the ordinary level or their equivalent, with credit passes in at least five (5) subjects in not more than two sittings. One of these five subjects to be passed at credit level must be English Language and other arts subjects to be combined with education.




Direct Entry (DE)


To qualify for Direct Entry, candidates must have NCE or OND with at least a merit pass in their art subjects’ combination plus Five (5) credits including the English Language at O-level.



Jamb UTME Subjects Combination


Government/ History, one social science subject English, and any other subject.





O-Level Subject Combination


Five (5) O-level credit passes including English and Mathematics and three (3) other subjects like Literature in English, history, French, Yoruba, Igbo, Hausa, Christian religious studies (CRS), Islamic studies, geography/ physics, economic and government or TC II.






  Departmental Cut-Off Mark


The departmental cut-off mark has not been released




Stay tuned on this page for it.


How helpful was this post to you?

Drop your thoughts in the comment section.