About UNN

The University of Nigeria commonly referred to as UNN; is a federal university located in Nsukka; Enugu State; Eastern part of Nigeria.


It was founded by Nnamdi Azikiwe in 1955 and formally opened on 7 October 1960.


The university of Nigeria has three campuses in Enugu State- Nsukka; Enugu; and Ituku-Ozalla.


       The University of Nigeria is the first full-fledged indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria; modelled upon the American educational system.

It was the first land-grant university in Africa and one of the five most reputed universities in Nigeria.

The university has 117 faculties and 102 academic departments.

The university offers 108 undergraduate programs and 211 postgraduate program.



The department started as Harden college of Education in January 1961; with 41 students for a two-years Diploma in Education Program.

In the 1961/62 session; the Department enrolled 40 students for the Bachelor Degree {B.A and B.Sc.} in Education.

The students combined two teaching subjects with prescribed courses in pedagogy.

The title of the degree B.A or B.Sc. depended on whether the candidate studied an art subject or science subject respectively.


In the year 1981/82 academic session; the department of Education and was reconstructed into one Department and two sub-departments.


Department of Educational Foundations;

. Sub-Department of Arts Education;

. Sub-Department of Science Education.


In the same 1981/82 academic session; the Department of Educational Foundation started a foundation program leading to the award of the Bachelor of Education {B.Ed.} degree that program initially had two options:

. The principles and Methods option; and

. The Guidance and Counselling option.

The Principles and Methods  options died a natural death with phasing out of Teaching Training colleges.

Only the Guidance and Counselling option is now offered .



Philosophy underlying the undergraduate program of Guidance and Counselling is in line with the core value of the university which focus on the moral rectitude for the production of globally competitive graduates that love universal truth for the upliftment of the society.


Inexperienced students need to be guided in their educational; vocational and socio-personal endeavor so as to produce the total man.

That is the essence of the Guidance and Counselling.



The objectives of the program are;

1} To produce educational counselors.

2} To produce qualified educationalists who can impact on the behavior of the younger generation for the benefit of the society.

3} To train school counsellors who can assume leadership position in the ministry of Education; College of Education and Universities.



The scope of the program covers the three major alms of the Guidance and Counselling which include; Educational Counselling; Socio-Personal Counselling; Vocational/Career Counselling; Sensitivity Training; Practicum and Special Educational Needs {SEN}.



The faculty of Education in UNN consists of eight {8} departments:

a} Adult Education

b} Arts Education

c} Computer Education

d} Educational Foundations

e} Library Science

f} Social Science

g} Science Education

h} Human Kinetics and Health Education

h{i} International Journal of Human Kinetics

h{ii} Health  Education


Admission Requirements

Admission requirements is done under two modes: UTME and Direct Entry


1} UTME {Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination}

i} Candidates must complete the general University/ UTME requirements.

ii} Candidates must have at least five credits in any five teaching subjects in at least two  sittings in Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination {SSSCE}; or West African School Certificate Examination {WASCE}; or General Certificate Examination {GCE}; or National Examination Council {NECO}; or any other program to be admitted into the four year degree program.


Direct Entry

Candidates with at least a minimum of merit grade at the Nigeria Certificate of Education {NCE}; Diploma Certificate in Education; Music; Religion; Adult Education or Science Education are qualified to be admitted into a three year degree program.


Jamb UTME Subject Combination

Government/ History; one Social Social Subject; English and any other subject.


O ‘level Subject Combination

Five {5} o ‘level credit passes including English and Mathematics and three {3} other subjects like Christian Religious Studies {CRS}; Literature in English; History; Hausa; French; Igbo; Yoruba; Islamic Studies; Government; Economics; Geography/ Physics or TC II.


Departmental Cut Off Mark

The department cut off mark has not been released.



Stay tuned for more information.

Please write in the comment section how this post has helped you.